Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
DRO Help?
First I am new to this site. Second I am almost totally ignorant of electronics. Third, I am a very good machinist (30+ years)

I recently bought a Chinese made DRO kit to mount on my lathe. It's so easy a 10 year old can do it right? Well, since I don't have any 10 year old's at hand, I decided to take on the task my self. I figure at 72 I should be at least as smart as a 10 year old. Hmmmm?

The Glass scales provided work very well and are as expected BUT there are several small problems. 

The only one that matters is that the X-Axis scale covers the carriage lock and the lubricant reservoir of the carriage. being somewhat of a Oilccan Henry type, I feel the this is not acceptable. 

What I would like to do is replace the glass scale(s) with Magnetic scales, the Magnetic scales have a much slimmer profile and even if mounted where the glass scales are, would uncover the needed features.

My question is can I switch to Magnetic scales? If a I can, (both of the scales use db9 connectors) do the db9s have the same connections ie: are the pinouts the same and what other problems might I have? How do I identify the problems and can I correct them so I can use Magnetic scales?

Help?
Well, it's complicated ...
It depends on what the input circuit of your DRO is and what scale you end up buying. Both types of scales use the same communication protocol and signal level (5V) but:
1. Pinout will very likely be different so you will need to figure out what it currently is and resolder the connectors on the new scales
2. Magnetic scales (and definitely the ones from China) output really dirty signal; glass scales output nice square wave. If you got one of the no-name DROs for $300-$400, there is no input signal conditioning stage to speak of. There is better-than-average chance you will have at least some problems with noise and a non-zero chance the scale will fry the microcontroller.
Hope this helps
Yuriy