Forum
Help identifying encoder outputs - Printable Version

+- Forum (https://forum.yuriystoys.com)
+-- Forum: General Discussion (https://forum.yuriystoys.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: General Help and Support (https://forum.yuriystoys.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Thread: Help identifying encoder outputs (/showthread.php?tid=336)



Help identifying encoder outputs - chrisB - 04-16-2018

Hi all,

I am trying to set up a DRO for a lathe and mill using a PCB level incremental encoder sensor RLC2HD like this: Renishaw encoder

I have purchased two TouchDro's for magnetic scales, now looking at the pin functions, these are marked  as 5V; A; B; Gnd; A'; B'    the output on the RLC2HD encoders is: 5v; 5v; Gnd; NC; NC; Z; B; A. Refer to attached diagram.

What output signal should I use? I was reasoning I have to use one 5v output, the Gnd, and the A and B outputs, but what about the Z and the other 5v outputs?

Thanks in advance for any advice offered!

Regards Chris


RE: Help identifying encoder outputs - bobdring - 04-16-2018

(04-16-2018, 05:51 PM)chrisB Wrote: Hi all,

I am trying to set up a DRO for a lathe and mill using a PCB level incremental encoder sensor RLC2HD like this: Renishaw encoder

I have purchased two TouchDro's for magnetic scales, now looking at the pin functions, these are marked  as 5V; A; B; Gnd; A'; B'    the output on the RLC2HD encoders is: 5v; 5v; Gnd; NC; NC; Z; B; A. Refer to attached diagram.

What output signal should I use? I was reasoning I have to use one 5v output, the Gnd, and the A and B outputs, but what about the Z and the other 5v outputs?

Thanks in advance for any advice offered!

Regards Chris

Hi ChrisB
This is just theory as I haven't got around to connecting mine up yet...
Some sensors use differential signals (e.g A & A' or A+ & A- etc) for better noise immunity.
Yours do not but are  still OK to use.

Connect sensor 5V to PCB 5V
Connect sensor GND to PCB GND
Connect sensor A to PCB A
Connect sensor B to PCB B
Connect PCB A' to GND
Connect PCB B' to GND
Z is an index signal and is not supported so leave it NC

I think the PCB handles the 5V to 3V3 signal level conversion for you but best check.

Bob



RE: Help identifying encoder outputs - chrisB - 04-17-2018

Hi Bob thanks for that. Very helpful

Chris


RE: Help identifying encoder outputs - Romeo - 06-30-2018

Hey, Chris,
Just came across your post (newbie).
I am contemplating a set up us g the same Renishaw ic level encoders in a space-constrained application.
These modules look really neat.
Can you share a little more of what you are doing, how you are progressing, and what issues you are finding?
I haven’t purchased any bits yet, but am grappling with questions like
1. What does the “almost contact” surface of these Renishaw modules look like? Is it compatible with some sort of mature bespoke notionally sealed enclosure?
2. These modules seem to require quite small separation (0.1 - 0.2mm) from the scale. Have you actually checked out their performance in a “real world” (probably more like 0.5mm) situation?
3. Did you actually purchase them via the online Renishaw site in Croatia or wherever it is?
4. How are you going to/did you mount these things?
Roman


RE: Help identifying encoder outputs - Romeo - 07-02-2018

Hey, Chris,
Just came across your post (newbie).
I am contemplating a set up us g the same Renishaw ic level encoders in a space-constrained application.
These modules look really neat.
Can you share a little more of what you are doing, how you are progressing, and what issues you are finding?
I haven’t purchased any bits yet, but am grappling with questions like
1. What does the “almost contact” surface of these Renishaw modules look like? Is it compatible with some sort of mature bespoke notionally sealed enclosure?
2. These modules seem to require quite small separation (0.1 - 0.2mm) from the scale. Have you actually checked out their performance in a “real world” (probably more like 0.5mm) situation?
3. Did you actually purchase them via the online Renishaw site in Croatia or wherever it is?
4. How are you going to/did you mount these things?
Roman


RE: Help identifying encoder outputs - chrisB - 12-14-2019

A while ago I completed this project. The encoders worked and I'm very happy with the outcome. Here's the build thread on the model engineer forum for anyone wanting further information on how I built it.

https://www.model-engineer.co.uk/forums/postings.asp?th=142115

My next project is the rotary table.