Forum
Shielded USB Cable....? - Printable Version

+- Forum (https://forum.yuriystoys.com)
+-- Forum: General Discussion (https://forum.yuriystoys.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: General Help and Support (https://forum.yuriystoys.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Thread: Shielded USB Cable....? (/showthread.php?tid=153)



Shielded USB Cable....? - blu-dro - 04-04-2017

Anybody got a good source for high quality shielded usb cable?

I was hoping to be able to just find a spool of it and buy a lifetime supply....lol

I have seen some that has really soft flexible insulation...probly silicone....and a separate bare wire for a ground that runs inside the foil or braid which makes it really convenient for grounding.

TIA,
Al


RE: Shielded USB Cable....? - 9t8z28 - 04-17-2017

I am curious about this too.
Are you wanting to add shielded cables for iGaging scales? Do the newer iGaging scales with Micro B ends have shielded cable or non shielded cable?
I would attempt converting my cables to shielded but I'm not very good with electronics. Isn't there a source for a male to male Micro B cable for us?


RE: Shielded USB Cable....? - Ralphxyz - 04-21-2017

I have never seen a seller of USB cables claim shielded or unshielded but every USB cable
I have cut was shielded. Also they appear to be shielded on both ends to ground which could
cause problems.

Ralph


RE: Shielded USB Cable....? - 9t8z28 - 04-22-2017

(04-21-2017, 07:57 PM)Ralphxyz Wrote: I have never seen a seller of USB cables claim shielded or unshielded but every USB cable
I have cut was shielded. Also they appear to be shielded on both ends to ground which could
cause problems.

Ralph

 How should they be grounded ?


RE: Shielded USB Cable....? - Briney Eye - 04-22-2017

(04-22-2017, 03:47 AM)9t8z28 Wrote:
(04-21-2017, 07:57 PM)Ralphxyz Wrote: I have never seen a seller of USB cables claim shielded or unshielded but every USB cable
I have cut was shielded. Also they appear to be shielded on both ends to ground which could
cause problems.

Ralph

 How should they be grounded ?

Depends on how the shield is being used.  If it's a component in a Faraday cage, creating a conductive enclosure completely surrounding your circuitry, both ends.  Otherwise, one end is "grounded" at a point where coupled noise will induce the least amount of error in your circuit.  Connecting both ends and making the shield part of the return path can create ground loops where the noise rides on the signal you're interested in.


RE: Shielded USB Cable....? - 9t8z28 - 04-22-2017

(04-22-2017, 03:49 PM)Briney Eye Wrote:
(04-22-2017, 03:47 AM)9t8z28 Wrote:
(04-21-2017, 07:57 PM)Ralphxyz Wrote: I have never seen a seller of USB cables claim shielded or unshielded but every USB cable
I have cut was shielded. Also they appear to be shielded on both ends to ground which could
cause problems.

Ralph

 How should they be grounded ?

Depends on how the shield is being used.  If it's a component in a Faraday cage, creating a conductive enclosure completely surrounding your circuitry, both ends.  Otherwise, one end is "grounded" at a point where coupled noise will induce the least amount of error in your circuit.  Connecting both ends and making the shield part of the return path can create ground loops where the noise rides on the signal you're interested in.

Sorry but I dont really understand this.  I wasnt sure what a faraday cage was so I looked it up.  It seems to be a cage to block electromagnetic fields.  I dont see how anyone could or why they would make a cage to go around their mill or lathe dro's or maybe you meant the spindle motor or motors for each axis of a cnc?  I am also not sure what you meant by coupled noise?  Forgive me for knowing nothing about electronics.  I'm sure you know what your talking about but I'm not sure it applies to what I or blu-dro and I are trying to use them for.  Then again Maybe blu-dro is not using it for scales but since he posted on this forum I cant see him using it for anything other than the scales.  Forgive me if I am being totally ignorant.  Im not intending to insult anyone with my replies


RE: Shielded USB Cable....? - Briney Eye - 04-23-2017

(04-22-2017, 05:10 PM)9t8z28 Wrote:
(04-22-2017, 03:49 PM)Briney Eye Wrote:
(04-22-2017, 03:47 AM)9t8z28 Wrote:
(04-21-2017, 07:57 PM)Ralphxyz Wrote: I have never seen a seller of USB cables claim shielded or unshielded but every USB cable
I have cut was shielded. Also they appear to be shielded on both ends to ground which could
cause problems.

Ralph

 How should they be grounded ?

Depends on how the shield is being used.  If it's a component in a Faraday cage, creating a conductive enclosure completely surrounding your circuitry, both ends.  Otherwise, one end is "grounded" at a point where coupled noise will induce the least amount of error in your circuit.  Connecting both ends and making the shield part of the return path can create ground loops where the noise rides on the signal you're interested in.

Sorry but I dont really understand this.  I wasnt sure what a faraday cage was so I looked it up.  It seems to be a cage to block electromagnetic fields.  I dont see how anyone could or why they would make a cage to go around their mill or lathe dro's or maybe you meant the spindle motor or motors for each axis of a cnc?  I am also not sure what you meant by coupled noise?  Forgive me for knowing nothing about electronics.  I'm sure you know what your talking about but I'm not sure it applies to what I or blu-dro and I are trying to use them for.  Then again Maybe blu-dro is not using it for scales but since he posted on this forum I cant see him using it for anything other than the scales.  Forgive me if I am being totally ignorant.  Im not intending to insult anyone with my replies

Sorry for geeking out there.  Just plug the scales into your controller and see if it behaves.  I had to add decoupling capacitors to the supply rails inside my scales to cure a noise problem, but you may be okay.  Depends on your particular scales.


RE: Shielded USB Cable....? - Ralphxyz - 04-24-2017

9t8z28, essentially the Faraday cage is your shielded USB cable, the shielding is there to block EMF (Electro Magnetic Fields).

As Briney Eye wrote "Just plug the scales into your controller and see if it behaves. " If you have no problem then forget about it and move on. However IF you do have a problem then you are going to have to learn how to deal with it.

It would be nice if everybody who had a "noise" problem would post exactly what they were seeing as a problem and their solution. That would be real helpful.

Ralph