Forum

Full Version: X axis not working correctly
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
(02-26-2018, 11:26 PM)Philcobt Wrote: [ -> ]Hi Yuriy

I have a similar problem to the above using scales from Machine DRO (UK) using the Do-it-yourself DRO Mixed Scale Controller Kit. I have changed the MSP430, put each scale in the various X, Y & Z inputs, all with no improvement. The Y axis seems most jittery, jumping from 0.00mm to 10403mm (0 to 409inch) and back again, but all axis jump in this way. They all revert to the same base number after jumping up to 10,000+mm.
I have checked all soldered joints and all seem OK.
Is there any thing else I can try or is it a Bin6 conversion problem that I read somewhere?
Is there an update on the code due soon please?
Regards,
Barry (UK)

I'm out of town till next Friday, so I can't look into this right now, but can you post the link to the exact scales you have?
(02-27-2018, 02:30 AM)Yuriy Wrote: [ -> ]
(02-26-2018, 11:26 PM)Philcobt Wrote: [ -> ]Hi Yuriy

I have a similar problem to the above using scales from Machine DRO (UK) using the Do-it-yourself DRO Mixed Scale Controller Kit. I have changed the MSP430, put each scale in the various X, Y & Z inputs, all with no improvement. The Y axis seems most jittery, jumping from 0.00mm to 10403mm (0 to 409inch) and back again, but all axis jump in this way. They all revert to the same base number after jumping up to 10,000+mm.
I have checked all soldered joints and all seem OK.
Is there any thing else I can try or is it a Bin6 conversion problem that I read somewhere?
Is there an update on the code due soon please?
Regards,
Barry (UK)

I'm out of town till next Friday, so I can't look into this right now, but can you post the link to the exact scales you have?

Thanks for the rapid reply.
 
The scales I have are a few years old and worked without problem on my mini mill with a YADRO system ( YADRO is a 4 channel PC interface (DOS) which will take Chinese scale input and output via a serial link to a PC) and I wanted to update it with your system using a Hudl 2 tablet with Android 5.1 (Bios ver 5.04.48.0056e, Kernel 3.10.62-x86_64byt-g105afb7) . I have also confirmed that the same problem happens on a Lenovo A1010a20 phone also running Android 5.1.
The two horizontal scales look like https://www.machine-dro.co.uk/horizontal...-inch.html (200mm & 300mm length) and the vertical scale looks like https://www.machine-dro.co.uk/digital-sc...?limit=all.
Other observations are that the high value changes by the same value of the base value ie base = 0mm high = -10403.84 base = 47.64 (-47.64 on scale display) high = -10356.20. This is after moving the scale to about 80mm, zeroing the scale then zeroing all axes on the DRO. Y axis readout is inverted.
Connecting the same vertical scale to the Z axis and starting with the scale zeroed at about 35mm,  base  = -32.93, high = 10370.91. Base = 0  & above - TouchDRO display seems more stable.  Z axis was not inverted
I have a 10uF tantalum cap across the scale connector which is soldered to a 4 core (non screened) about 85cm long. The PSU is an 8v stabilised mains supply


Regards
Barry
Having trouble with DRO erratic display. Chinese linear scale display is fine.
Yuriys pcb assembled ok, checked all soldering (not a junior at soldering).
ensured correct order of wires to scale, B+, clock, data , ground.
tried reversing clock, data, chinese scales didnt like it.
Reseated cpu to ensure good contact with header. (would have preferred machine pin header).
Heartbeat ok. Probe LED off.
Bluetooth connection ok (after fitting 1000uF Cap across raw incoming supply rail).
All non connected axis are at zero - no issues. moved device, leads away from bench, turned off fluoro & all other disturbances.
despite erratics I could see no changes to x axis on the dro.
- do the inputs to the LM339's need small value caps on their inputs?
HELP!
Also, am i supposed to see probe On dro app? not sure what to expect..
hope U dont mind my saying that i am having a bit of trouble finding stuff on website - articles seem scattered everywhere.
Hello again Yuriy! Been a while..
I have noted that this thread is indicating Exactly the same issues i referred to in my post, #23 above.
Namely jittery Y axis readout. The Chinese scale display is Stable, the Touch DRO, not.
I cant seem to find the wiring schematic of the board I bought from U. Please supply the link..
I wish to resolve ASAP.
The setup is 20480 ppi.
Was put on backburner awaiting update info, not forthcoming, AFAIK.
BTW an Igaging scale (too short for my milling machine) tested on Y axis seem much more stable, so i suspect the Mixed s/w has an issue.
THIS THREAD HAS GONE COLD, so Hope you are OK!

#20 post i meant re exact same issue..
WHY have You abandoned us,
so many with same/similar issues? Unfixable?
Hi,
Sorry, didn't see your first message. This thread was 2 years old, so I wasn't paying attention.
What version of the board do you have? The original DIY kit used different firmware from the current kit. The new kit uses that same firmware as the pre-made boards, and I sold hundreds of those, so the firmware is very likely not a problem.
It could either be an issue with soldering (which you seem to have ruled out), or defective/damaged MSP430.
Anyway, it would be helpful to know what you built and possible see a picture of the finished board.
Thank you
Yuriy
Thankyou for the reply Yuriy .. did post #22 get answered? A bit disconcerting.
My f/w ver 1.0, board is Rev 1.2
Other msp430 already swapped out, tested. Same issue.
Assembled & tested by a professional tech. Double checked.
X axis, Z axis also exhibits same symptoms but not as bad as Y axis, which is a consistent fault.
Page 2 of this thread others have binned the project due to being left w no answers..
I havent given up on U!!
(Red LED's are across the vcc's to all scales to constrain vcc's to 1.60 V Max. Didnt help tho.
Where do I find the board wiring schematic?
- Just a good screenshot will do
Pages: 1 2 3